

The Lapeer District Library will be the community's destination for resources, education, technology and connection.

Lapeer District Library
Regular Meeting of January 18, 2024
Marguerite deAngeli Library
Minutes

24R.01.01 Call to Order: A. Renius, board secretary, called the meeting to order at

5:29 p.m.

24R.01.02 Roll Call:

Bill Marquardt	City of Lapeer	12/31/2026	Present
Amanda Renius	County (Marathon Township)	12/31/2024	Present
Kari Kohlman	County (Deerfield Township)	12/31/2027	Present
Kelly Nolan	Lapeer Township	12/31/2024	Present
John DeAngelis	County (Metamora Township)	12/31/2027	Present
Perry Valle	County (Metamora Township)	12/31/2025	Present
Dr. Neena Sharma Schons	Mayfield Township	12/31/2025	Absent

Quorum is 4. There are __6__ Board members present.

Also present are Amy Churchill, LDL Director; Yvonne Brown, Assistant Director for Technical Services.

24R.01.03 Public Comments: 1 person spoke during public comment.

24R.01.04 Additions/Deletions/Approval of agenda: B. Marquardt moved to accept the agenda. Seconded by P. Valle. Motion carried.

24R.01.05 Consent Agenda: P. Valle moved to accept the consent agenda. Seconded by K.Kohlman. Motion carried.

Board Reports:

24R.01.06 Treasurer P. Valle, board treasurer, moved to pay checks #15137-15132 from General Checking for \$7,439.22; bill pay #GC3907-3934 from General Checking—Online Bill Pay for \$14,650.90; and #PC2102-2114 Payroll Checking-Online Bill Pay for \$150,279.30, for a grand total of \$172,369.52. Seconded by K. Nolan. Motion carried.

Committee Reports:

24R.01.07 Finance No report.24R.01.08 Personnel No report.24R.01.09 Advocacy No report.

Lapeer County Report:

24R.01.10 Lapeer County Commissioner T. Kohlman gave a report. Items of note were the upgrades and reopening of Torzewski County Park to be completed for 2025. The Lapeer County Commissioners approved a resolution to remove county commissioners from the current MERS pension system into a separate defined contribution division. In addition, the Lapeer County Commissioners also approved a resolution engaging the services of a new law firm for purposes of general legal counsel.

Unfinished Business:

24R.01.11 None.

New Business:

- **24R.01.12 New Member Introduction:** Welcome and introductions to John DeAngelis and Kari Kohlman both representing the County of Lapeer.
- **24R.01.13 2024 Board Officer Appointments:** P. Valle moved to elect the following to board office: Bill Marquardt board chair, Kelly Nolan board vice chair, Amanda Renius board secretary and Perry Valle board treasurer. Seconded by J.DeAngelis
- **24R.01.14 By Law Review:** Board members have copies of the current by- laws. Discussion included the removal of the personnel and advocacy sub committees and possible changes to the standing meeting agenda. A draft will be reviewed at the February meeting.
- **24R.01.15 2024 Credit Card Approvals:** P. Valle moved to approve the 2024 credit card use and limits. Seconded by A. Renius. Motion carried.

Staff Reports

- **24R.01.16** Assistant Director for Technical Services A written report was presented. Included 2023 year end statistics. An update was also given on the status of the mobile app.
- **24R.01.17 Director** A written report was presented. Highlights included the expansion of book clubs in the branches. Employee evaluations and goal setting for 2024 continue throughout the month.

Communications:

24R.01.18 Letter/\$5000.00 from the Scofield Trust

Friends Report

24R.01.19 K. Rhykus indicated that the Friends are still waiting for confirmation for moving locations.

Board Comments or Request for Information:

24R.01.20 None.

- **24R.01.21 MMLC Report:** MMLC board was meeting 1/18/2024. No further report at this time.
- **24R.01.22 Public Comments:** 1 person spoke during public comment.
- **24R.01.23 Adjournment:** K. Kohlman moved to adjourn. Seconded by J. DeAngelis. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 5:56pm.

Regular Meeting: Marguerite deAngeli Library February 15, 2024 Finance Committee 4:30 p.m. Full Board 5:30 p.m.

Amy Churchill – Recorder	
Amanda Renius – Secretary	
Bill Marguardt – Chair	